Supreme Court

Social Democracy.jpg

The Supreme Court is the highest federal court of the United States of America established in the original US constitution in 1789 with one Chief Justice (John G. Roberts) and 8 Associate Justices who are nominated and vetted by the President and approved by the Senate. The justices, once approved, serve for life and act as the last word for all cases and controversies that arise across the 50 states. The court stands as the final decision of both the law and constitutional comprehension. 

The current court includes only 8 justices as Antonin Scalia recently died:  Anthony Kennedy, Clarence Thomas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer, Samuel A. Alito Jr., Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan.